Breaking News :
Police GBV
Home » News » Art & Culture » Limkokwing awards artists scholarships

Limkokwing awards artists scholarships

Limkokwing University of Creative Technology in partnership with Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development has awarded 20 Batswana the Tan Sri Limkokwing Scholarships for the creative industry.

Speaking during the official launch of the scholarships on October 21, Assistant Minister of youth empowerment, Buti Billy said the scholarships were a testimony of good working relations between the ministry and Limkokwing University. He said the gesture signified the important role the creative industry continued to play in the development of the country.

He noted that the industry accorded youth opportunities to explore their talents and commended the university for availing scholarships in the creative sector.

Billy expressed hope that the knowledge and skills acquired from the training would empower selected individuals and also contribute to employment creation for the locals.

Furthermore, he said government was committed to creating jobs for the youth, urging the private sector to come on board to assist with training.

For his part, Vice-Chancellor of the Limkokwing University of Creative Technology, Dr Gape Kaboyakgosi said they took a deliberate approach to promote the creative industry to allow the artists to fully explore their talents and share the knowledge they would acquire with others.

He added that as a learning institute, they continued to uphold and preserve culture, saying for a long time, they had been contributing significantly to the creative sector as both the university and the ministry had always embraced arts and culture.

The vice-chancellor advised the awardees on how to approach education and think beyond the box and implored them to take the advantage of this opportunity to be more self-contained in doing what they desire to do.

The beneficiaries for these scholarships include local artists and personalities such as Berry Heart, Scar, Zenzel Hirschfeld, Tshepo Lesole, DJ Collastro, Exotic, among others. 


Source : BOPA

Author : Onalenna Dube

Location : GABORONE

Event : Scholarship awards ceremony

Date : Oct 22 Thu,2020


Social Network