Breaking News :
Home » News » General » Local government minister reinstates SAA chairperson

Local government minister reinstates SAA chairperson

The Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Mr Frans van der Westhuizen, has reinstated Serowe Administrative Authority (SAA) chairperson, Mr Mpho Kooreme with immediate effect. 

Through a savingram, the minister rejected the removal of Mr Kooreme by a motion of no confidence that was tabled by nominated councilor, Mr Gaotilwe Omphile on February 25.

The minister stated that the reinstatement of Mr Kooreme was in the best interest of the public.

Some councillors rose to debate contents of the savingram, but Central District Council chairperson, Mr Peter Williams, rejected their advancement, arguing that the minister's order was beyond them.

However, Mr Omphile said in an interview that, throught the motion, councillors represented interests of the public that the minister alluded to in his communication.

Though Mr Omphile expressed disappointment at the minister’s line of argument, he conceded that the minister had the power to overrule them, but he questioned the manner in which the overruling was done. ENDS




Source : BOPA

Author : Manowe Motsaathebe

Location : SEROWE

Event : full council meeting

Date : Mar 11 Mon,2019


Social Network