Thursday Oct 18,2018
Breaking News :
Male Circumcision
Home » News » General » Performance review important - PS

Performance review important - PS

 Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, Mr Solomon Sekwakwa has appealed to the ministry employees to take performance review seriously for career progression.

Speaking at the ministry’s performance awards ceremony on behalf of Minister Kenneth Matambo, Mr Sekwakwa raised a concern that some officers were reluctant to be reviewed.

He explained that the ministry was working overtime to find out the root cause of the problem because it caused disappointment when the officers do not progress.

Mr Sekwakwa said the awards have grown dramatically to include more categories since their  inception in the past few years.

He explained that it was now a culture throughout government sectors to award best performers and celebrate their achievements for customer service delivery.

He said the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development was one of the performing ministries and this has been recognised by those who reviewed government ministries on yearly basis.

In this regard, he told awardees and other dignitaries that the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development had emerged second this year in terms of performance.

In his welcome remarks, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Mr Jacob Monene said performance awards ceremonies had enhanced performance across all government sectors.

Meanwhile, Awardees were awarded price money in the categories of Innovation and Creativity, Best Agent, Most Customer Centric, and Overall Best Performers of the Year.

There was also awards for Best performing Committees.

Three awardees; Ms Kgadimo Mokgweng, a procurement officer, Ms Victoria Mothusi, chief library officer, and Ms Malebogo Maje received the innovation and creativity awards.

This is an award given to an employee who has shown initiative in improving service delivery through creativity.

Ms Mothusi came up with an initiative to have the library opened during lunch hour and her initiative enabled 87 per cent of officers to satisfactorily utilise the service during lunch hour, thus continuing with service delivery.

Ms Mokgweng introduced tendering monitoring tool in the form of a white board, where all the floating tenders are recorded, updated and visible to the customer while Ms Maje initiated that pensioners’s advice slips should be printed with the pensioner’s postal address on the outside of the envelope with a transparent window.

The Best Change Agent winners were Ms Andinah Morapedi, principal finance officer, Mr Daniel Gaserengwe, principal accounts officer and Ms Maria Mokgwathi, principal internal auditor.

This award is given to an employee who is able to influence change in the Ministry.

Ms Morapedi initiated a concept paper on Audit and spot-checks for the Ministry of Health and Wellness that outlines some critical approaches that assisted the ministry with proper budgeting.

Mr Gaserengwe influenced positive change and inculcated the spirit of team work at Tsabong revenue office, where there was a lot of mistrust, misunderstandings and conflicts in the office while Ms Mokgwathi pushed for change by ensuring that good governance is applied.

Mr Mothusi Lekgetho, finance administrator and Ms Boineelo Dikgolojane, messenger, received the award for the Most Customer Centric category.

Employees under this category have demonstrated consistency in putting in the customer’s interest first.

Mr Lekgetho among his other achievements, was a case in which a customer had her passport and identity card stolen and used to withdraw P38 000 from her bank account and a P6 000 loan taken fraudulently from the bank through her name. It was through Mr Lekgetho’s intervention that the customer was fully refunded.

Eight employees received the award for the overall best performers of the year and these are Mr Sello Thuto, chief Economist, Mr Kentse Ramaphuka, Principal Economist, Ms Bafo Loago, Administration Officer.

Others are Mr Moeteledi Mvami, senior finance officer, Ms Tuelo Lebentlele, senior economist, Ms Batlhalefe Lephepe, chief cleaner, Kerileng Moroka, assistant procurement officer, and Ms Ishmael Gaeemelwe, principal internal auditor.
This award is given to an employee who have proven themselves to be outstanding performers for the ministry.

In no particular order, three committees received the Best Performers Category and these are health and safety committee, Mamabose corruption prevention committee, and Mamapasele staff welfare committee.

Giving a vote of thanks, accountant general at the ministry, Ms Emma Peloetletse appealed to the Ministry’s employees to put the ministry on the global map by performing above normal standard.  ENDS

Source : BOPA

Author : Thamani Shabani

Location : GABORONE

Event : performance awards ceremony

Date : Mar 08 Thu,2018


Social Network