Budget Speech QKJ
Monday Feb 19,2018
Breaking News :
Daily BOT50 celebration
Home » News » Politics » Local » BDP holds primary elections in opposition territory

BDP holds primary elections in opposition territory

Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) over the weekend held its primary elections dubbed “Bulela Ditswe” in all 10 opposition -held constituency except eight which were unopposed. 

 The unopposed constituencies are Kanye South, Gaborone North, Good Hope/Mabule, Maun West, Selibe-Phikwe West, Bonnington North, Gaborone Central and Tlokweng.

In Gaborone Bonnington South constituency Mr Christian Nthuba won by 865 votes, beating  Mr Pelonomi Bantsi who got 629 votes.

While Mr Nthuba accepted the results, Mr Bantsi did not accept the results saying he was not happy nor impressed by the procedure before and during elections.

For Gabane/Mmankgodi constituency where four candidates battled for the parliamentary candidacy, Mr Kagiso Mmusi emerged victorious with 2 386 votes followed by Mr Joseph Makati with 846. 

On the third position was Mr Phillip Mokento with 305 while Mr Pius Ntwayagae got 227 votes.

Mr Mmusi Kgafela won himself a BDP ticket to contest in the 2019 general elections for a parliamentary seat by beating Mr Batlhalefhi Leagajang with 1759 compared to the latter’s 575 votes.

In Francistown South, Mr Modiri Lucas garnered 906 while Mr Khumongwana Maoto got 496 and Ms Lamodimo Dikomang got 306 votes.

In the highly contested Mogoditshane constituency,  Mr Tshepang Mabaila won the race by 1227 beating Mr Mogogi Tshiamo who got 390 while Mr Patrick Masimolole and Mr Emmanuel Otisitswe got 350 and 80 respectively.

BDP veteran Mr Gaotlhaetse Matlhabaphiri made a return to BDP Molepolole North constituency candidacy by narrowly beating Mr Oabile Regoeng after getting 1869 votes against 1852 votes. Another candidate Mr Botsalo Ramogadi came third with 477 votes.

Mr Kabo Morwaeng emerged victorious in Molepolole South after multiple setbacks in primaries under the BDP banner. 

He garnered 2693 votes against Mr Shima Monageng who got 1844 votes. 

In Ramotswa constituency Mr Lefhoko Moagi won by 2015 against Mr Lentswe Monare’s 1102 votes.

Mr Mephato Reatile also got himself a BDP candidacy for 2019 general elections after winning the primaries with 2 206 votes while Mr Amos Jahana and Mr Dibeela Shobashoba got 677 and 604 votes respectively. 

In Ghanzi North Constituency,  BDP will be represented by Mr Johane Thiite who beat Mr Gregory Losibe with 1593 votes against Mr Losibe’s 1572. BOPA

Source : BOPA

Author : BOPA reporters

Location : GABORONE

Event : BDP primary elections

Date : Jan 22 Mon,2018


Social Network